The intent of Senate Bill 16 (SB16) is to provide greater equity among Illinois school districts, and the bill was approved in the Illinois Senate in May. Senate Bill 16 would reduce state funding to High School District 211, and Community Consolidated School Districts 15 and 54 by a combined total of $31.5 million by redistributing general state aid to school districts in other communities.  District 54 would lose approximately $12.4 million annually; District 15 would lose $11.1 million annually; and District 211 would lose $8 million annually.

To share information about the school funding changes that were contained in SB16 and the type of funding reallocation that could be considered in future legislation, representatives from High School District 211, in partnership with representatives from Schaumburg Elementary School District 54 and Palatine Elementary School District 15, hosted an informational meeting on Thursday, October 30, 2014, at Schaumburg High School.

State Rep. Linda Chapa LaVia, chair of the House Elementary and Secondary Education Committee, has said she will not advance SB16 in the House in its current form.  As school leaders, we closely monitor legislative initiatives and how they might impact our service to students. As legislators open additional hearings to receive input about school funding, we will continue to advocate strongly for our students and to inform you about changes that could impact our schools and programs.


Additional information about the SB16 joint school district meeting is available here.

To view the presentation from the October 30, 2014 informational meeting, click here.

Additional FAQs on Senate Bill 16


Please use the information below to contact your legislators directly regarding concerns about Senate Bill 16.


State Representatives


Representative Fred Crespo
44th District
1014 E. Schaumburg Road
Streamwood, IL 60107


Representative Thomas Morrison
54th District
117 E. Palatine Road, Suite 196
Palatine, IL 60067


Representative Michelle Mussman
56th District
15 W. Weathersfield Way
Schaumburg, IL 60193



State Senators


Senator Dan Kotowski
28th District
350 S. Northwest Highway, Suite 300
Park Ridge, IL 60068


Senator Matt Murphy
27th District
1 E. Northwest Highway, Suite 109
Palatine, IL 60067


Senator Michael Noland
22nd District
The Professional Building
164 Division Street, Suite 102
Elgin, IL 60120

1750 South Roselle Road
Palatine, Illinois 60067-7336
See our Mobile App